Dog Kennel Hill* Training Session – 28th October 2014

Dog Kennel HillWhat topsy-turvy weather – 18oC and glorious sunshine, and its nearly November.  I’m not complaining.  Honest guv.  I hope it keeps it up because it easier to stay motivated and get my fat tush out the door to pound the streets.

And motivated I was today, setting out to #UpTheDistance on last weeks 7.89 effort, and do a long run.  I reacquainted myself with an old 10K route in its entirety, including all its hills, especially the slog up Dog Kennel Hill* and  managed 10.5km in 1hr 10mins.
Pleased to discovered I still have some pace in my legs, but realise I don’t have the stamina to match it at the moment.  I slowed down considerably in the second half, and had to walk for short sections on a few of the later kilometre.
But I have to keep in mind that I haven’t  done that route in full for nearly a year or that distance in about 8months, so all in all quite chuffed.  Besides its given me a target for improvement.
  • 1st km – flat
  • 2nd km – Camberwell Grove – steady up-hill
  • 3rd km – Champion Park – steady down-hill
  • 4th km – Denmark Hill – steady up-hill
  • 5th km – Herne Hill – down-hill
  • 6th & 7km – Half Moon Lane & Village Way – deceptive: slow incline disguised as a flat.
  • 8th km – East Dulwich Grove – flat
  • 9th km – Dog Kennel Hill = short, steep up-hill.  It may not look that steep in the picture but it is, take my calves moans as proof particularly after 8km
  • 10km Camberwell Grove repeat – but now a steady down-hill
What I learnt this run:-
1. Sunshine and good weather is a great motivator.
2. Tying your trainers too tight gives you pins and needles in your foot and you have to stop to loosen them.
3. I need a bigger water bottle, especially if the weather stays like it is.
I’m training to run the Brighton Half Marathon on behalf of CoolTan Arts, who provide positive support and services for people with mental distress.  Please sponsor me to help CoolTan Arts carry on their great work.
*Story has it that the street so named as the area was once the hunting ground of kings and princes, and this was where they kennelled their hunting dogs.

One thought on “Dog Kennel Hill* Training Session – 28th October 2014”

Leave a comment